BBC Sports Personality of the Year Names LGBT Stars

Sixteen contenders have been nominated for this year’s BBC Sports Personality of the Year, and several LGBT stars have been named on the list.

We won’t find out the winners until December 18, when a live vote will take place and the public will get to decide who wins this award and the several other awards on offer. While we will go through the full list of nominees in a moment, but first the LGBT nominees.

First, we have the lesbian hockey champ Kate Richardson-Walsh, who is currently the Captain for Great Britain and England. She also netted a gold for Team GB at the 2016 Rio Olympics. The other LGBT nominee is  Nicola Adams, who has the honour of being the first woman to win an Olympic boxing title. She was also the very first LGBT person to win an Olympic gold medal in 2012.

The full list of nominees:

Nicola Adams – Boxing
Gareth Bale – Football
Alistair Brownlee – Triathlon
Sophie Christiansen – Equestrian
Kadeena Cox – Athletics/Cycling
Mo Farah – Athletics
Jason Kenny – Cycling
Laura Kenny – Cycling
Andy Murray – Tennis
Adam Peaty – Swimming
Kate Richardson-Walsh – Hockey
Nick Skelton – Equestrian
Dame Sarah Storey – Cycling
Jamie Vardy – Football
Max Whitlock – Gymnastics
Danny Willett – Golf

For those of you wondering how you vote for the winners, you can vote by phone and online, and details on how to do so will be revealed during the show on December 18. As well as the Sports Personality of the Year, there are also Team of the Year, Coach of the Year, Overseas Sports Personality of the Year, Young Sports Personality of the Year, Helen Rollason Award for outsanding achievement in the face of adversity, Lifetime Achievement Award and Get Inspired Unsung Hero.

Have you followed us on Facebook and Twitter?

Article Name
BBC Sports Personality of the Year Names LGBT Stars
The BBC Sports Personality of the Year 2016 has nominated two key LGBT stars.