Adele & Radiohead up for Indie Music Awards

The AIM awards, which recognises music released on indie record labels, has nominated several artists including Adele, Radiohead and Stormzy.

Radiohead’s nomination is for album of the year, with their album A Moon Shaped Pool, with Adele’s Hello, Radiohead’s Burn The Witch and Major Lazer’s Light It Up battling it out for track of the year.

For those of you not in the know, the ceremony is put on by the Association of Independent Music which is meant to represent music released outside of the “big three” – Sony, Warner and Universal.

According to Alison Wenham, who leads the trade body, the nominees for this year’s AIM Awards represents the huge diversity in not only genre, but gender and ethnic diversity within indie music.

She said: “Where else, other than the AIM Awards, would you find grime acts going head to head with hardcore punk bands and electronic producers? The shortlisted nominees highlight the fact that the best place to be in the music industry right now is the independent sector.”

You can see the full list of nominees below. Have you followed us on Facebook and Twitter?

Independent album of the year

  • Arca – Mutant
  • Brian Eno – The Ship
  • Field Music – Commontime
  • Frank Carter & The Rattlesnakes – Blossom
  • Lapsley – Long Way Home
  • Little Simz – A Curious Tale Of Trials + Persons
  • Press To MECO – Good Intent
  • Radiohead – A Moon Shaped Pool
  • Roots Manuva – Bleeds
  • Skepta – Konnichiwa

Independent track of the year

  • Adele – Hello
  • Christine And The Queens – Tilted
  • Field Music – The Noisy Days Are Over
  • Flume – Never Be Like You
  • Ghetts x Rude Kid – One Take
  • Major Lazer ft Nyla & Fuse ODG – Light It Up [remix]
  • Protoje ft Chronixx – Who Knows
  • Radiohead – Burn The Witch
  • Skepta – Man
  • Roots Manuva – Don’t Breathe Out

Independent label of the year

  • Because Music
  • Bella Union
  • Epitaph/ANTI-
  • Moshi Moshi
  • Ninja Tune

Best ‘difficult’ second album

  • Daughter – Not To Disappear
  • Fat White Family – Songs For Our Mothers
  • Melt Yourself Down – Last Evenings On Earth
  • Money – Suicide Songs
  • Savages – Adore Life

Independent breakthrough of the year

  • Christine And The Queens
  • Father John Misty
  • Flume
  • Neck Deep
  • Stormzy

Hardest working band or artist

  • Darren Hayman
  • Kamasi Washington
  • Martyn Joseph
  • Run The Jewels
  • ShaoDow

Best live act

  • Babymetal
  • Caravan Palace
  • Courteeners
  • Sunset Sons
  • Wolf Alice

PPL award for most-played independent new act

  • KDA
  • Sigala
  • Wolf Alice
  • Tchami

Best small label

  • Beatnik Creative
  • Earth Recordings
  • Holy Roar
  • Local Action
  • Numbers

Special catalogue release of the year

  • British Sea Power – The Compleat Illustrated British Sea Power (Vol. 1)
  • Mikael Tariverdiev – Film Music
  • Slade – When Slade Rocked The World
  • Various Artists – Ork Records: New York, New York
  • Various Artists – Leaf 20 Box Set

Golden welly award for best independent festival

  • Barn On The Farm
  • Beat Herder
  • Brainchild Festival
  • Pete The Monkey
  • Strawberries & Creem Festival

Indie champion award

  • Chris Bye – Arts Council England / Liverpool Sound City
  • Jen Long – DICE
  • Jess Partridge – London In Stereo
  • Jon Tolley – Banquet Records
  • Mary Anne Hobbs – BBC 6Music

Independent video of the year

  • Darwin Deez – The Mess She Made
  • Grimes – Kill V. Maim
  • Kaytranada – Lite Spots
  • Oscar – Sometimes
  • Yeasayer – I Am Chemistry

Outstanding contribution to music

  • Roisin Murphy

Pioneer award

  • Richard Russell, XL Recordings

Innovator award

  • TBA
Adele & Radiohead up for Indie Music Awards
Article Name
Adele & Radiohead up for Indie Music Awards
Both Adele and Radiohad are up for the indie AIM Awards.