Edinburgh Comedy Awards Shortlist Announced

The Edinburgh Comedy Awards have just revealed who has been honoured with a spot on their shortlist.

One of the names on the list will be quite familiar to some, as they have named James Acaster for the fifth time in a row – for his show Reset.

There are eight other nominees for best comedy show, and the top comic will walk away with a £10,000 cash prize when the winner is announced at Edinburgh’s Dovecot Studio on Saturday night.

There are also nominations for best newcomer, which will see the victor winning £5,000. Nominations for this category include Michelle Wolf, Bilal Zafar, Brennan Reece, Nath Valvo, Jayde Adams and Scott Gibson.

Best Comedy Show nominations

Al Porter – At Large
James Acaster – Reset
Kieran Hodgson – Maestro
Nish Kumar – Actions Speak Louder Than Words, Unless You Shout The Words Real Loud
Randy Writes A Novel
Richard Gadd – Monkey See Monkey Do
Tom Ballard – The World Keeps Happening
Zoe Coombs Marr – Trigger Warning

Best Newcomers 2016
Bilal Zafar – Cakes
Brennan Recce – Everglow
Jayde Adams – 31
Michelle Wolf  – So Brave
Nath Valvo  – Happy Idiot
Scott Gibson – Life After Death

Nica Burns, director of the lastminute.com Edinburgh Comedy Awards, said that the nominations reflect the “breadth and quality” of comedy at the Edinburgh Fringe.

She said: “Four outstanding stand-ups, a female comic performing in character as Dave, a novel-writing puppet, a wonderful storyteller and a comic who is as moving as he is funny.”

“An international list with four UK artists, three Australians and a Dubliner. The six nominees for the newcomer award are equally international with an Australian and an American, and the vibrancy of the Scottish stand-up scene is reflected in the nomination of Glaswegian Scott Gibson and the best show nominee, Richard Gadd.”

Have you followed us on Facebook and Twitter?

Edinburgh Comedy Awards Shortlist Announced
Article Name
Edinburgh Comedy Awards Shortlist Announced
The Edinburgh Comedy Awards have officially announced the shortlist of comedians for this year.